Philodendron : Rempotage, arrosage et conseils d'entretien

Philodendron

La Philodendron est l'une des espèces les plus populaires de notre boutique en ligne et une espèce bien connue de la plupart des gens. La philodendron est si populaire parce qu'elle est très différent en apparence, elle purifie l'air et elle est facile à entretenir. En bref, la plante idéale pour tout le monde et tout type de maison !

Arbre d'amour

Vous avez toujours voulu avoir un arbre d'amour dans votre maison ? Un arbre d'amour ? Nous parlions de la famille des philodendrons, n'est-ce pas ? Oui, c’est ça ! Elle doit son nom aux mots grecs "Philo", qui signifie amour, et "Dendron", qui signifie arbre ! La Philodendron est originaire des forêts tropicales d'Amérique du Sud. Il existe une multitude de variétés différentes, de formes, de couleurs et de tailles diverses, et on peut estimer qu'il y a environ 500 espèces ! Certaines aiment grimper et aiment donc recouvrir les murs et d'autres peuvent être considérées comme des arbres miniatures.

Ontwerp zonder titel (8).png

Espèces de philodendrons

Avec près de 500 espèces, vous remarquerez que de nombreuses espèces portent plusieurs noms, ce qui peut être source de confusion en ligne, mais ne vous inquiétez pas ! Nous vous aiderons à traverser cette épreuve. Certaines de ces variétés sont également des Philodendrons panachées. Elles ont des feuilles de plusieurs couleurs ou des taches sur leurs feuilles. Elles sont très uniques et donc aussi un peu plus chers. Elles sont très difficiles à cultiver, car elles ont besoin de plus de lumière et leur croissance est lente. Il est bien sûr impossible de citer toutes les espèces de Philodendron. Cependant, nous aimerions vous présenter les variétés de Philodendron les plus populaires, les plus faciles et les plus belles.

La Philodendron Scandens, également connue sous le nom de 'Sweetheart Plant', est très populaire. Elle est facile à entretenir car il n'est pas nécessaire d'avoir la main verte pour s'en occuper. Cette espèce de Philodendron peut se suspendre ou grimper, cela dépend de ce que vous voulez ! Si vous êtes un parent de plante avancé, vous pouvez couper une nouvelle tige sous le nœud (avec une paire de ciseaux propres) pour stimuler la nouvelle croissance. De cette façon, vous pouvez également aider la plante à devenir touffue.

Un véritable sosie des Scandens est la Philodendron Micans. Elle possède également de belles feuilles en forme de cœur, mais celles-ci sont presque veloutées. Les feuilles vert-bronze avec un dessous presque rouille contribuent à ce bel aspect. Si vous lui donnez une grande pièce spacieuse, elle peut même atteindre une taille de 6 mètres !

Parmi les philodendrons les plus belles et les plus frappantes, on trouve la Philodendron Gloriosum et la Philodendron Melanochrysum. La Gloriosum se caractérise par ses feuilles vertes veloutées avec de belles nervures blanches qui poussent en forme de cœur. La Melanochrysum a des feuilles cristallines vert foncé avec une nervure jaunâtre brillante. L'aspect cristallin des feuilles ressemble à des taches d'or. Melanochrysum signifie également "or noir".

Les dernières espèces de Philodendron qui méritent une place dans cette liste sont celles qui ont un peu plus de couleurs. La Philodendron Prince of Orange doit son nom à ses feuilles uniques qui changent de couleur au fil du temps. Les nouvelles pousses ont une couleur jaune lorsqu'elles apparaissent pour la première fois. Elles passent ensuite à une couleur cuivrée et se terminent par une nuance plus foncée de vert. Enfin, la rare Philodendron Painted Lady. Ses feuilles sont d'un vert néon au début et deviennent plus foncées à mesure qu'elles mûrissent. Le magnifique motif tacheté ne doit certainement pas être oublié. C'est ce qui la rend si spécial.

Ontwerp zonder titel (10).png

Conseils d’entretien pour les philodendrons

La plupart des philodendrons sont faciles à entretenir et sont très tolérants. Vérifiez à l'avance les exigences de votre espèce spécifique de Philodendron, car elles varient souvent. Un sol léger avec un ajout de matière organique fera briller votre Philodendron !

Lumière et emplacement

La Philodendron est une plante heureuse dans un endroit où la lumière du soleil est vive mais indirecte. Près d'une fenêtre, où le soleil ne touche pas les feuilles, c'est parfait ! Lorsque plusieurs feuilles jaunissent en même temps, cela peut être un signe que la plante reçoit trop de lumière indirecte du soleil. Toutefois, il est normal que les feuilles plus anciennes jaunissent et dépérissent avec le temps. Donc ne vous inquiétez pas si une petite feuille commence à jaunir. Les tiges de votre Philodendron sont-elles longues et elles n’ont presque pas de feuilles ? Alors, elle veut bien être placée dans un endroit avec plus de lumière.

Eau

La meilleure méthode d'arrosage pour votre Philodendron est de laisser les 2-3 cm supérieurs du sol sécher entre les arrosages. Les feuilles pendantes peuvent être un signe que la plante reçoit trop ou pas assez d'eau. La meilleure façon de le vérifier est de mettre votre doigt dans la terre et de vérifier si elle est trop sèche ou trop humide.

Engrais

Nourrissez votre Philodendron tous les mois au printemps et en été et toutes les six à huit semaines en automne et en hiver. De petites feuilles et une croissance lente signifient que votre plante a besoin d’un peu d’engrais. Des feuilles pâles indiquent souvent que la plante ne reçoit pas assez de calcium et de magnésium, qui sont des nutriments essentiels pour les philodendrons.

Boutures de philodendron

Nous comprenons que vous aimez votre Philodendron et que vous aimeriez en prendre des boutures. La multiplication des philodendrons est tout à fait possible et n'est pas si difficile ! Pour la plupart des philodendrons, une bouture de la tige (entre 2 nœuds) est suffisante. Vous pouvez facilement mettre la bouture dans de l'eau ou de la terre (une terre légère, donc mélangée avec de la perlite par exemple). Au bout de quelques semaines (environ 4 semaines), vérifiez si les racines poussent et profitez de votre nouvel ajout ! Nous vous recommandons cependant de toujours considérer la meilleure façon de propager votre type de Philodendron.

Ontwerp zonder titel (9).png

Problèmes les plus courants avec les philodendrons

La pourriture des racines, le manque ou excès d'eau, les parasites et les acariens sont les problèmes les plus courants. Bien que les philodendrons soient généralement exempts de parasites, les pucerons, les cochenilles, et les tétranyques peuvent parfois les tourmenter. Notre docteur PLNTS à la rescousse ! Vous trouverez sur cette page tous les conseils et astuces dont vous avez besoin lorsque votre Philodendron montre des signes de difficulté.

La philodendron est-elle toxique pour les animaux domestiques ou les enfants ?

Il est important de savoir que la philodendron est considérée comme un poison pour vos animaux domestiques et vos enfants. Alors gardez les loin l'un de l'autre. Elle peut aussi parfois provoquer des irritations cutanées lorsqu'elle est taillée.

Plantes de philodendron à vendre

Chez PLNTS.com, nous avons plus de 20 espèces différentes de Philodendron, comme la Philodendron Birkin, la Philodendron Majesty et la Philodendron Xanadu. Avec autant de variétés, il y a beaucoup de joyaux à choisir !

Si vous voulez une grande plante dès le début, ou si vous voulez voir grandir une version mini, nous avons tout sur PLNTS.com !

Hi, I'm Emma, your PLNTS.com guide!

Bonjour, je suis Emma, ta guide PLNTS.com!

)

Philodendron (Love tree) - Care tips

Philodendron

The Philodendron is one of the most popular species in our webshop and also a species known to most people. The Philodendron is this popular because they are very air-purifying and not difficult to care for. In short, she is the ideal plant for everyone and every home!

Information about Philodendrons

Have you always wanted a ‘Love Tree’ in your home? We hear you thinking.. Love Tree? Yes, the Philodendron’s name comes from the Greek words ‘Philo’ which means love and ‘Dendron’ which means tree: ‘love tree’! The origin of the Philodendron lies in the rainforests of South America. It has several varieties in all sort of shapes, colours and sizes. Currently, there are almost 500 types of philodendron. Some like to climb and can even cover walls and others can be seen as miniature (indoor) trees.

Since Philodendrons are known as aroids, it is clear that they can thrive both outdoors in warm climates (Unfortunately for us (most) Europeans☹), and indoors as a houseplant. Philodendron varieties require low maintenance while offering her stunning and intricate leaf. This versatility is what makes them so popular among beginning plant parents but the experts as well. Besides being incredibly adaptive, the Philodendron’s leaves are basically air purifiers that gather polluting particles and release fresh and clean oxygen. We think this amazing!

Ontwerp zonder titel (8).png

Philodendron varieties

It is not possible to name all the 480 types of the Philodendron, but we would like to show you a couple of our most popular, easy to care and beautiful Philodendron varieties. Many Philodendron varieties have multiple names, it is not strange that you get confused when searching online. There are also Philodendrons that are variegated, those Variegated Philodendrons have leaves with more than one colour or with patches of colour on their leaves and stem. Very unique but also more expensive because they are harder to breed (they need more light and they are slow growers). Now, let us get started with introducing a few Philodendrons.

The Philodendron Scandens, or also known as the Heartleaf or Sweetheart Philodendron. She is very easy-going and doesn’t require you to have a green thumb to stay beautiful. This type of Philodendron can trail or climb. It is a good idea to pinch the stem (with clean scissors) near a node to encourage new growth and it helps the plant to become bushy.

Another variety with velvety heart-shaped leaves is the Philodendron Micans. The greenish-bronze leaves with their almost rusty colored undersides are striking. When you give her a large, spacious room she can even grow into a length of 6 feet.

One of maybe the most beautiful and striking Philodendrons (we think so though..) are the Philodendron Gloriosum and the Philodendron Melanochrysum. The Gloriosum that is characterized by her velvety green leaves with amazing white veins that grow in cute heart shapes and the Melanochrysum with her dark green crystalline leaves with a bright yellowish vein. The crystalline appearance on the leaves resemble specks of gold. Melanochrysum, in fact, means ‘Black Gold’.

The last Philodendron varieties that we want to highlight are the Philodendrons with some more colour. The Philodendron Prince of Orange gets its name from its uniquely leaves, which change color over time. New growth starts in a yellow colour when it first emerges, transitioning first to copper tones, and ultimately settling into a darker shade of green. At last the rare Philodendron Painted Lady. The leaves emerge in a neon green an fade to a darker green when they mature. And don’t forget of course the beautiful mottled pattern that makes the Philodendron Painted Lady so special.

Ontwerp zonder titel (10).png

Philodendron Plant Care Tips

The most Philodendrons are relatively easy to care for and quite forgiving. However, please check the requirements for the specific variety of the Philodendron you are caring for. We notice that a lightweight soil, with the addition of organic material, is perfect for the Philodendron and will help her shine!

Light and placement for Philodendrons

The Philodendron in a location with bright but indirect sunlight is a happy plant. A position near a window where the sun never actually touch her foliage is perfect. If several leaves turn yellow at the same time, the plant may be getting to much indirect sunlight! On the other hand, the plant probably isn’t getting enough light, when the stems are leggy and long with several inches between the leaves. Please note that it is normal for older leaves to turn yellow.

Water

When you want your Philodendron to grow up the best possible way, you should allow the top 2-3 centimetres of the soil to dry out between watering. Droopy leaves can mean that the plant is getting too much or not enough water. But the leaves will recover quick when you correct your watering schedule.

Nutrition

Water the plant with fertilizer monthly in spring and summer and every six to eight weeks in fall and winter. Small leaf size and slow growth is her way of telling you that it is not getting enough fertilizer. Pale new leaves usually indicate that the plant isn’t getting enough calcium and magnesium, which are essential micro-nutrients for philodendrons.

Propagating Philodendrons

We understand that you love your Philodendron so much that you want to create new babies. Propagating Philodendrons is definitely possible and not even that hard! For most Philodendrons it just takes a cut from the stem (between 2 nodes). You can easily put the cutting into water or soil (a light soil, so mix it with perlite for example). Check your cutting after a few weeks (after aprox 4 weeks) to see if there are roots growing and enjoy your new baby! We recommend to always double check the best way to propagate your type of Philodendron though.

Ontwerp zonder titel (9).png

Most common pests on Philodendrons

Root rot caused by too much water, too little water or insects and mites are the most common problems. While philodendrons are generally pest-free, aphids, mealybugs, scales and spider mites can infest them sometimes. Our PLNTS Doctor to the rescue! On this page you can find all the tips and tricks that you need when your Philodendron shows signs of problems.

Are Philodendrons poisonous for pets or children?

It is important to note that the philodendron is considered toxic to your furry friends and children. So keep your babies away from each other. Sometimes it can also cause skin irritation when being pruned or handled.

Buy your new Philodendron at PLNTS.com

At PLNTS.com you can buy over 20 different types of the Philodendron, like the Philodendron Birkin, the Philodendron Majesty and the Philodendron Xanadu. With so many varieties to choose from, there really is a Philodendron for everyone!

Whether you like your Philodendrons big from the start or prefer to grow them from tiny BabyPLNTS into full-grown PLNTS - we’ve got you covered!

Hi, I'm Emma, your PLNTS.com guide!

Hi, I’m Emma, your PLNTS.com guide!

)